The 2023 Writers Guild South Africa Muse Awards is now open for submissions.

Here is the timeline for the 2023 WGSA Muse Awards :

  • Adjudication first round: 15 June to 15 July 2023
  • Adjudication of final round: 20 July to 20 August 2023
  • 2023 WGSA Muse Awards Ceremony: 16 September 2023

The WGSA Muse Awards recognise and reward outstanding writing in film, television, documentary, stage, radio, animation, mobile/web series categories.

Scripts may be that of PRODUCED or UNPRODUCED work. This competition is only open to members of the Guild and form part of our mission to protect, empower, and develop South African performance writers.

The WGSA Muse Awards are for South African performance writers bestowed by their peers. They shine the spotlight on and recognise the contribution made by the often faceless and unappreciated creators and originators of entertainment content.

Launched in 2013, the awards are the brainchild of former WGSA Chairperson, Harriet Meier, “It is an award by writers for writers, which finally shines the spotlight on the often-forgotten custodians of SA arts and culture”. The original trophy was designed and donated by Kohl Graphics.

No extensions after 31 May 2023!